The Changes Keep Coming

FIRST THINGS FIRST: Please read my article where I independently reported from the White House about President Barack Obama’s official announcement of the start of “Promise Zones.” I took the pictures all on my own too…I’m a big girl now!

Capturing a shot of President Barack Obama on Thursday!

Capturing a shot of President Barack Obama on Thursday!

Anyways, back to the theme of this post: Change. These past seven days have been filled with so many new adventures that have brought about so much encouragement and passion to my heart. Yet I can’t deny that this change is a challenge, as change often can be. And not just because the polar vortex recently came through.

As a military child, constantly changing environments is supposed to be my specialty. I’m supposed to be unafraid of change, have a comfort zone that knows no boundaries and be able to automatically adapt to any situation. So I’m a little embarrassed to admit that deciding to move to Washington D.C. my final semester of college was one of the hardest decisions I’ve made. Living in Austin for 3.5 years is the longest I’ve ever lived in one city and naturally I’ve grown very comfortable with it. I know the city, I know the people, I can [fairly] predict the weather–so when I found out I was accepted into a program located in D.C. I was immediately hesitant. And my reaction shocked even me. I’m a self-proclaimed traveler and I applied to this program on my own—why was I suddenly so resistant to change?

I think it’s partially knowing that what I’m leaving behind, I can’t get back. There’s no returning to campus life because after this program ends, I graduate. My apartment in Austin is gone, I have no more classes to attend, and my job has already hired a replacement. It almost feels as though I’m prematurely letting it go. In addition, I have never done political reporting before.

Although I may not have mastered the art of, change, I do believe it’s extremely important to embrace. My head was filled with doubt before choosing to come to Washington but my brother pointed out that these kind of opportunities–temporarily living in a new city all expense paid–do not typically occur after graduation. There’s the famous quote: “The only thing constant in life is change.” I realized the only reasons I had for not taking this opportunity stemmed from my fear of discomfort, which are TERRIBLE reasons to deny a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. All the technical details were cleared and literally the only thing holding me back was myself.

I’m outside of my comfort zone, and while that makes me anxious and a bit fearful, it also excites me. I truly believe that the greatest experiences, moments, people and lessons come into our lives when we step outside that zone. Since 2008 I have wanted to be in the same room as President Obama and I’m so amazed that I was able to do that within my first few days here.

I’m learning that when opportunity comes knocking, don’t just open the door but also actively embrace it. When change comes knocking right behind opportunity, (which it always will) don’t try to hold onto the past, but look towards the future. I’m just starting on this journey so if you have any pieces of advice, please do share.

Here are some pictures to illustrate my week!

Holding some kind of insect at the museum.

Look at me embracing change! Holding some kind of insect at the museum.

Reporting in the East Room of the White House!

Reporting in the East Room of the White House!

First night out with the other interns

First night out with the other interns

A few of the Scripps interns

A few of the Scripps interns

The Potomic River is frozen over!

The Potomic River is frozen over!

photo (3)

Visiting the monuments at night. This was at the Lincoln Memorial with a great view of the Washington Monument.

Visiting the monuments at night. This was at the Lincoln Memorial with a great view of the Washington Monument.

Practicing my photography at the National Mall

Practicing my photography at the National Mall

First time being in front of the White House!

First time being in front of the White House in years!

Representing Texas! UT El Paso and UT Austin

Representing Texas! UT El Paso and UT Austin

Leave a Reply

