What’s Next? The Future

My internship in Washington D.C. has wrapped up and I am currently back in Texas. I’m very proud of the work I did this semester so if you have time please visit my SHFWire profile to see all that I’ve been working on! I visited Atlanta before returning to reconnect with family and I’m most recently returning from the beautiful state of Colorado. I’m so glad I’m able to take some time to travel before heading into the “real” world.

In an effort to further procrastinate my last college assignment, I’ll talk about the past rather than the future! One last time I will look back on this semester and the lessons I learned through my program in Washington.

Taking a stroll through the sculpture garden with Spongebob.

Taking a stroll through the sculpture garden with Spongebob.

  1. Every rejection and every acceptance happens for a reason. So for now, laugh at the confusion and worry a little less because one day looking back, it will all make sense.
  2. Politics is more than a bunch of old men in suits pointing their fingers.
  3. Different isn’t worse. It seems like common knowledge but this concept is really difficult to remember when put in an environment that is nothing like what you’re used to.
  4. Texas weather is amazing. Texans always complain about how “bipolar” the weather gets but in reality it never gets that cold or that windy or that ugly outside. And if it ever does the entire state shuts down. It’s great and we’re all spoiled brats.
  5. In Washington, it’s always a better decision to dress up rather than down.
  6. Take chances. Once-in-lifetime opportunities don’t typically roll around twice—hence the name.
  7. Humility is oh so rare but oh so attractive.
  8. There are no Chick-fil-A’s in Washington, sadly.
  9. “The most interesting man alive” is probably sitting right next to you. Celebrities and world-renown people are not the coolest people on the planet, amazing people are all around you.
  10. When you make true friends, you’ll know.
  11. Hindsight makes things look better than they actually ever were.
  12. It’ll make you feel better to look forward rather than focus on the past.

For years everyone has spoken about that point in time that’s considered “the Future.” It always seemed like an unobtainable moment in time. But “the Future” is here and I feel ill-prepared. Yet with the lessons learned in Washington I think I can be patient for the right opportunities that await me. I think.

Here are a few last pictures of my spring semester in Washington and time in Atlanta, Vail and Colorado Springs. Catch back up with me next month as a start a new blog recording my travels in Prague, Czech Republic! I’m stoked!

Spring has sprung

Spring has sprung

Spending time outside with the budding cherry blossoms.

Spending time outside with the budding cherry blossoms.

A beautiful view of Washington from the Arlington Cemetery.

A beautiful view of Washington from the Arlington Cemetery.

Taking a trip to NPR studios.

Taking a trip to NPR studios.

Selfie fever

Selfie fever

Visiting CNN in Atlanta.

Visiting CNN in Atlanta.

Some of my Atlanta cousins!

Some of my Atlanta cousins!

Finally getting to spend time with my parents!

Finally getting to spend time with my parents!

Skiing in the Rockies

Skiing in the Rockies

Enjoying the view at Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs. So majestic!

Enjoying the view at Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs. So majestic!

10269642_10154083221415174_6096922788035042357_n

Hiking

Leave a Reply

