A Weekend in Toronto

I’m a bit late on posting this (what’s new?) but last month I took a trip up to the land of the nicest people on Earth. Yes Canada, of course! I’ll start with the food…

FOOD

For brunch I highly recommend dining at School Restaurant. I have dubbed this spot my best brunch experience of 2016 which, since I am a serial bruncher, is a big deal. Who knew Toronto could do chicken and waffles so well? The entire restaurant is decked out to portray a classroom with fitting drinks named, “Hot For Teacher” and “The Juicy Lunch Lady.” The patio outside is referred to as “The School Yard.” We went on a Friday for weekday brunch and there wasn’t a wait at all. As expected, the staff showed their true Canadian friendliness!

For a sweet treat we stumbled upon, Sweet Jesus, which was a spiritual awakening if we’re being honest. It was frigid the entire time I was in Toronto but my friends and I still felt it necessary to indulge in this once-in-a-lifetime ice cream experience. I will let the pictures speak for themselves!

 

ACTIVITIES

After eating at School Restaurant we skipped over to Queens Street West, where Graffiti Alley lies. Graffiti Alley is Instagram heaven for basics (including myself). So many photogenic background shots and I’m not even ashamed that I nearly ran out of memory snapping pics. Along Queens Street are boutiques and coffee shops to dip into. The street eventually leads to Kensington Market, where there are several trendy bars and restaurants.

Our AirBnB was a condo right on the coast of Lake Ontario, near the ferries that can take you to Toronto Island. The island is pretty small but the view from the ferry is amazing! On the island are beaches, gardens, trails and even an amusement park.

Our AirBnB was also conveniently close to the Air Canada Centre so we were able to do a quick walk over to watch a Raptors game vs. The Pacers.  If you’re a sports fan, Toronto is your place because there are teams for nearly every sport: basketball, baseball, hockey, soccer, football, lacrosse, it’s all here!

 

niagara falls

We spent a separate day at Niagara Falls, which I highly recommend since it’s only a 1.5 hour bus ride from Toronto. We stayed on the Canadian side, which I hear has more activities than the New York side. We rode the Hornblower Cruise into the falls where we were provided the incredibly stylish red ponchos seen below. We also walked the bridge that connects the U.S. to Canada, which required that we bring a passport. The view was beautiful so don’t forget to bring yours along! A bit of a walk aways was also the Niagara Falls Museum.

 

overall

Toronto is a fun city and the people truly live up to their stereotype of being super friendly. I was surprised by how delicious all our meals were! And the wine! The wine was great! The flight was only 1.5 hours from NYC, which made for very simple travel. If I were to revisit back, I would definitely come in the summer. Visiting in April, I thought we would experience spring weather–turns out it was in the 20s and 30s the entire time (brr!). The American dollar goes much further in Canada so we didn’t spend too much money–not to mention their currency is beautiful! The public train/rail system was very simple and convenient, plus Uber is inexpensive (especially compared to New York). Planning to visit Toronto? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

